Another year

Wow!  2008 is almost over and what a year it turned out to be.   Challenge after challenge,  there were many times when it didn’t feel like we would make it!  But, like the saying goes, “God doesn’t give you anything you can’t handle.”  Amen to that!

I’m looking at the list of resolutions I made around this time last year.  Amazingly, I accomplished a large portion of it.

Stick to my schedule.  This is definitely an ongoing process.  However, the (free!) Blackberry I recently acquired has proven to be most helpful in this area.

The little device that keeps me together!

The little device that keeps me together!


Procrastinate less.
This bad habit has gotten a lot better.  But, I’ve been reading a book that just might have the answer to my problem!  I’m 3/4 through it and strongly recommend it!

To Do, Doing, Done ~by G. Lynne Snead & Joyce Wycoff

To Do, Doing, Done! (by G. Lynne Snead & Joyce Wycoff)

Recycle more. Check!  I used to only worry about newspaper, water bottles and cans, but I’ve added several other items to the list of recyclables – magazines, batteries, paper towel rolls, cardboard boxes (i.e., cereal, pasta, crackers), plastic bags, and the wrapping from paper towels and toilet tissue.  Also started reusing glass containers…

Soap, water, a new label and...voila!

In addition, I uploaded FREE software from GreenPrint so I only print what’s absolutely necessary, plus I get PDF conversion capabilities (BONUS!)…

Check it out!!!

Check it out!!!

Set aside time to work on creative projects. Yes indeed.  From (finally!) painting my daughter’s room to making beaded jewelry to sewing pillows and sacks to making my own Thanksgiving Day cards for the very first time…

Blessed and thankful, I was inspired and got creative!

Blessed and thankful, I was inspired and got creative!

Be more consistent. This one is a general goal and always ongoing!

Be more patient with my kids. Yes.  The Lord is helping me out with this one!

Attend church regularly. For sure!  I don’t miss a Sunday or a Bible Study.  It’s like a car and gas – I need my weekly filling to keep going!

Manage money better. Oh yes!  My honey and I took a Crown Financial Ministries class early this year and loved it!  Despite the difficulties we’ve had with income, we make better choices now as a result of what we’ve learned.

Learning to view finances Gods way...you cant go wrong!

Learning to view finances God's way...you can't go wrong!

Eat out less. This is still a little bit of a challenge, but we’re doing A LOT better in this area!

Cook at home more. Yes – my honey more than me, but we’re saving money and love spending more time at the table together as a family!

Quick, easy and yummy!

Quick, easy and yummy!

Pay bills on time. Most of the time.  It all depends on whether or not the funds are available.  But it’s awesome how God is providing!

Watch less TV. For sure!  These days I only put it on as background noise or flip through channels only to find that nothing of value is on!  We even removed the TVs in each of the kids’ rooms and are down to only 2 sets!

Read more books. Always!  Definitely much more into reading now than I’ve ever been before!

Volunteer at school more. Working on this one.  I haven’t volunteered this year as much as I did last year, but I’m still chaperoning field trips as finances permit.  I’m working on doing more within the community and think that’s where the majority of my focus will be next year…

Shoebox project for the elderly at Christmastime.

Shoebox project for the elderly at Christmastime.

All in all, it’s been a very blessed year.  I’m looking forward to an awesome 2009!!!

Today’s Daysie says…

“EVERY LIFE HAS ITS DARK AND CHEERFUL HOURS.  HAPPINESS COMES FROM CHOOSING WHICH TO REMEMBER.”

…so thankful for those choices!

Leave a Reply

