Loving family

Today’s devotional from the NLT (New Living Translation) site quoted Romans 12:10

Love each other with genuine affection, and take delight in honoring each other.

Heart Hug by Morang on flickr

Heart Hug by Morang on flickr

I can’t stand my family sometimes…that’s the honest truth.  There are times when one of them might say something that makes me want to put duct tape over their mouth.  Other times, they’ll do something so outrageously obnoxious that all I can do is look up and pray for divine intervention.  But, regardless of their actions, I love them dearly.  I know that if they weren’t present in my life, it would feel incomplete.

The immediate family is easy to love though.  What about the church family?  That’s a little more difficult – at least for me – and I’m one who seeks the positive and the beauty in everything and everyone!  Don’t get me wrong, there are some that I genuinely adore.  Unfortunately, that doesn’t apply to every one of them.  So, I have to ask myself why my heart is selective.  It’s probably because it remembers the way a person has made me feel in the past.  After all, it has a memory.  There, issues raise up a wall and don’t allow those connections with others to strengthen.  But, is it easy to re-record the memories of the heart so that the negative feelings don’t interfere?  I don’t know, but I am praying for God to work it out.  He’s in the business of construction and renovation and the only one that can knock down walls and renew our strength and spirit.  Thank you, Lord…

Today, my Daysies calendar says:

What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.

Amen!  I guess that’s where I’ll focus – the inner me…

3 Comments

  1. Fada Moranga said,

    February 25, 2009 at 11:37 am

    What a wonderful post! I am honoured that you have chosen my Heart Hug to illustrate your beautiful work in progress :-)

    Love, Moranga***

  2. Fada Moranga said,

    February 25, 2009 at 11:39 am

    This is the correct link and email! :-)

  3. Fada Moranga said,

    February 25, 2009 at 11:52 am

    OOps… It seems my 1st comment didn’t succeed… Here it is:

    What a wonderful work in progress! I am honoured that you have chosen my Heart Hug to illustrate this lovely post :-)
    Love, Moranga


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

